Judicial Ethics Committee
Join the Section

Join online via MyBarPage or

Download application

Judicial Ethics

The Judicial Ethics Committee receives requests for ethics opinions and issues advisory opinions regarding ethics matters for Judges. The Committee only issues written opinions in response to written questions. If you have an ethics question, please submit a written request to the Judicial Ethics Committee.


To review prior written opinions download:
Texas Judicial Ethics – 1975 to present



Judicial Ethics Committee

Hon. Lee Gabriel
2nd Court of Appeals
Fort Worth, TX
Term Ends: 2018


Hon. Patricia J. Kerrigan
190th District Court
Houston, Texas
Term Ends: 2018


Hon. James Mosley
316th District Court
Term Ends: 2018


Hon. Sam Medrano
409th District Court
El Paso, Texas
Term Ends: 2019


Hon. Paul Davis
Senior District Judge
Austin, TX
Term Ends: 2019


Hon. Les Hatch
District Judge
Lubbock, TX
Term Ends: 2019


Hon. Amanda Matzke
County Court at Law 1, Brazos County
Bryan, TX
Term Ends: 2019


Hon. Craig Estlinbaum
District Judge
Bay City
Term Ends: 2020


Hon. Kevin Jewell
County Court at Law
Term Ends: 2020

Hon. Theresa Chang
Term Ends: 2020


Ex Officio:

Hon. Jennifer Rymell, Chair
County Court at Law #2
Fort Worth, TX


Hon. Randy Clapp, Chair Elect
329th Judicial District
Wharton, TX


Hon. Kerry Russell, Immediate Past Chair
7th Judicial District Court
Tyler, TX