Join the Section

Join online via MyBarPage or

Download application

Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee for the State Bar of Texas Judicial Section is now accepting applications for the Board of Directors positions listed below. An application, letter of interest, and resume must be received no later than 5 p.m. April 17 to be considered. You can download the application here

Nominations are being accepted for the following positions:

  • Chair- Elect – District Judge 
  • Place 2 – Appellate Justice
  • Place 4 – District Judge
  • Place 6 – District Judge


Nominating information should be sent to:

  • Tracy Nuckols
    Project Manager, Sections Department
    State Bar of Texas
    P.O. Box 12487
    Austin, Texas 78711-2487 

Electronic submissions are preferred. Current State Bar of Texas Judicial Section members may vote for their candidates of choice at the section's Annual Meeting, which will be held September 5, in conjunction with the Annual Judicial Education Conference in Houston.

Nominations Committee

Judge Mary Murphy
Presiding Judge - Region 1
Dallas, TX


Judge Debbie Evans
Region 2
87th District Court
Fairfield, TX


Judge Gary Steel
Region 3
274th District Court
Seguin, TX


Judge Lori Valenzuela
Region 4
437th District Court
San Antonio, TX


Judge Rose Reyna
Region 5
206th District
Edinburgh, TX


Judge Steve Ables
Region 6
Presiding Judge
Kerrville, TX


Judge Penny Roberts
Region 7
San Angelo, TX


Judge Wade Birdwell
Region 8
342nd District Court
Fort Worth, TX



Justice Pat Pirtle
Region 9
Seventh Court of Appeals
Amarillo, TX