To Login: Username: Bar number Pasword: My Bar Page Password
Nominations Committee Report

The Nominations Committee requested nominations from the full section for open positions for the Judicial Section Board of Directors. After thorough review and consideration of all applications/nominations, the committee recommends the below slate be elected at the section’s Annual Business Meeting which will be held on September 7 at 2:30 p.m. at the Gaylord Hotel in Grapevine, Texas, in conjunction with the Annual Judicial Conference. 
Chair Elect (Appellate Justice)
Chief Justice Rebeca C. Martinez
4th Court of Appeals
San Antonio, Texas
Place 3 – District Court Judge
Hon. David Sanchez
444th District Court
Brownsville, Texas
Place 7 – District Court Judge
Hon. Kristen B. Cohoon|
451st District Court
Boerne, Texas
Place 9 – County Court at Law Judge
Hon. Timothy S. Linden
Hunt County Court at Law No. 1
Greenville, Texas
Place 11 – Supreme Court Justice
Hon. Brett Busby
Supreme Court of Texas
Austin, Texas
Place 12 – Criminal Court of Appeals Judge
Hon. Bert Richardson
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
Austin, Texas
Election. Nominations will also be accepted from the floor. The Chair Elect position is a one-year term; this position will automatically ascend to chair next year. The remaining board positions are three-year terms that expire in 2024. The secretary/treasurer position on the Judicial Section board is appointed by the Chair of the Judicial Section. You must be a member of the Judicial Section to vote in the election. 

Request for Nominations

Dear Judicial Section Members:
The Nominations Committee for the State Bar of Texas Judicial Section is now accepting applications for the Board of Directors positions listed below. An application, letter of interest, and resume must be received no later than 5 p.m. CDT on April 22, 2022 to be considered. You can download the application here, or in word format here. 

For more information about the section or to review the section bylaws, visit the Judicial Section website. You must be a member of the Judicial Section to hold a board position. You can join or renew your membership on your State Bar dues statement or online via your My Bar Page. If you renew your membership now, you will be a member throughout 2022-2023 bar year. 

Nominations are being accepted for the following positions:
  • Chair-elect- Intermediate Appellate Justice
  • Place 3- District Judge
  • Place 7- District Judge
  • Place 9- Statutory County Court Judge
  • Place 11- A Justice of the Texas Supreme Court
  • Place 12- A Judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals
Nominating information should be sent to:

Tracy Nuckols
Sections Department
State Bar of Texas
P.O. Box 12487
Austin, Texas 78711-2487

Electronic submissions are preferred. Current State Bar of Texas Judicial Section members may vote for their candidates of choice at the section’s annual membership meeting, which will be held on September 6, 2022, in conjunction with the Annual Judicial Education Conference in Grapevine.

Kind Regards,
Hon. Les Hatch, Nominating Committee Chair
Judicial Section
State Bar of Texas

Hon. Les Hatch, Immediate Past Chair
237th District Court
Region 1:
Hon. Eric Moye
Dallas County 14th Civil District Court
Region 2:
Hon. Kathleen Hamilton
359th District Court
Region 3: 
Justice Brett Busby
Supreme Court of Texas
Region 4: 
Hon. Cathy Stryker
224th Civil District Court
San Antonio
Region 5: 
Hon. Jaime E. Tijerina
13th Court of Appeals
Region 6: 
Hon. Robert Anchondo
El Paso County Criminal Court #2
El Paso 
Region 7: 
Hon. Jay Weatherby
340th Judicial District Court, Tom Green County
San Angelo
Region 8: 
Hon. Jennifer Rymell
Tarrant County Court at Law #2
Fort Worth
Region 9: 
Hon. Kregg Hukill
242nd District Court
Region 10: 
Hon. Alfonso Charles
124th District Court - Gregg County
Region 11: 
Hon. Randy Clapp 
329th District Court
Texas Judicial Section
State Bar of Texas
© 2022 State Bar of Texas. All rights reserved.